Sibley County Historical Museum

Located in historic Henderson, Minnesota    

Home of the Sibley County Historical Society

Sibley County Historical Society Committees

The Sibley County Historical Society has several committees that need volunteers.  Please consider volunteering for one or more of the following committees.

Archives/Digital Collections Committee – Rommie Peterson

Areas of responsibility include:  indexing, filing, and digitizing the collections of photos, documents, and artwork.

Collections Committee– Sharon Haggenmiller, Sharon Shimota, Marie Main, Pat Klunder

Areas of responsibility include:  photographing and data entry into PastPerfect, maintaining the museum’s exhibits, maintaining and changing the museum’s displays, general cleaning of the exhibits and artifacts.

Communications Committee – Dan Hislop, Roseann Nagel

Areas of responsibility include:  producing the monthly newsletter, photographing events, and updating the Historical Society’s Facebook page and website.

Education Committee – Judy Loewe, Sharon Haggenmiller

Areas of responsibility include: planning Historical Soceity events, programs, museum tours, annual meeting, and County Fair booth.

Facilities Committee – Lowell Nagel, Marlys Gaucher

Areas of responsibility include:  site upkeep, utilities, lawn care & weeding, snow removal, cleaning, pest control; light carpentry/plumbing/electrical/painting.

Nominating Committee– Rich Nagel

Areas of responsibility include:  seeking future board members.

Research Committee – Dorothy Peterson, Ruth Ann Buck

Areas of responsibility include:  genealogy and related topics.  This committee is responsible for mail, e-mail, and in-person research requests.